Professional Geek
RSS icon Email icon Bullet (black)
  • Naughty Naughty Microsoft

    Posted on January 3rd, 2008 AndyParkes 3 comments

    Internet Explorer Update
    Originally uploaded by Andy Parkes

    I got this email today. As far as i can tell it’s a kosher email from Microsoft trying to get you to upgrade to Internet Explorer 7 which is fine..thats perfectly normal right?

    What i found a bit weird thouh was when you click on the image

    I expected to be taken to a landing page where it would outline advantages of upgrading.blah..blah ..blah,etc

    What happens though is that the link is for the download itself, which happens to be called SETUP.EXE

    You click the image and get prompted to run or save setup.exe, this surely is a bit wrong as it looks dreadfully suspicious?

    Has anyone else see this? Can they confirm it’s a real microsoft email?

     

    3 Responses to “Naughty Naughty Microsoft”

    1. Can’t be legit – they want to run genuine advantage, etc. what’s the file’s URL?

    2. Not legit. You can tell by the dodgy English: “In complete security!”, “Access to all MSN”.

      It’s not even MSN any more, is it? It’s Windows Live! or something now, I thought.

    3. Thanks for the comments,

      IE 7 Setup runs also genuine advantage during the install so if you get it from the MS download site you get checked out twice

      MSN still exists as it’s “content portal” (think Yahoo) as opposed to Live which is services based (think messenger,etc)

      I thought the English was a little dodgy but the download link was what made me think it was genuine

      I wont post all of it in case it is dodgy but the link was

      http://microsoft.msn.com – followed by a parameter which is used to request the file

    Leave a Reply